WHERE ARE THEY NOW? (Vol. II)

Each year, the CVEEC hires a fantastic team of Field Instructor Interns.  They spend the year teaching, learning, and living here in the national park.  Since 1994, more than 150 Field Instructor Interns have spent a year with us, interacting with kids and passing on their passion for the environment and their love of this national park.  But, what happens to our intern staff once they leave the CVEEC?  We checked in with some of our intern alumni to see what they are up to, and how their Field Instructor Internship helped them get to where they are today.

Veronika Parickova

Veronika Páričková

Field Instructor Intern:

August 2007- June 2008

What came next?

I returned back to Slovakia and 2 months after my return, I started to work as a volunteer coordinator for Greenpeace Slovakia.

Current job/position:

Expert- advisor in creating curriculum for youth workshops

Skills learned at the EEC that helped you get to your current job:

I learned a lot about how to organize groups of kids, I improved my communication skills, problem solving, and time management. I also learned a lot about different environmental educational activities and I really enjoyed learning about local nature (which is unfortunately not helping me in Slovakia).

Skills learned at the EEC that helped you with life in general:

Since I was away from my family, friends and home country for 10 months (which was the longest time in my life so far) I learned a lot about myself. It made me think about who I am, what I like, what I want, and how I can live in new environment and culture. I learned a lot about how to cooperate with others, how to live in group of various people. I can say it was a big step for me.

Best aspect of the CVEEC internship:

The best was living in the center of national park all together, making new friends, getting to know rangers and how national parks work in different country (I was always comparing it to Sovakia and hoping we can arrange some ideas in my home country).  I also really liked learning a lot about local nature, history and holidays (I really enjoyed Thanksgiving).

CVEEC favorites:

My favorite was November Lodge with all eco friendly gadgets, created wetlands, time capsules and the old bridge. And my favorite songs were Funky Chicken and Cool cat. And of course Friday pizza and ice cream sandwich.

Do you still remember the lyrics to “All the Rivers Run”:

Some of them…

 

Megan Hill

Megan (Maurer) Hill

Field Instructor Intern:

2002-2003

What came next?

EEC Program Assistant 2003-2004

EEC School Program Coordinator 2004-2006

Current job/position:

Stay at home mom/farmer/chairman of the Bellville Farmers Market

Skills learned at the EEC that helped you get to your current job:

Lots of exploring time outdoors!

Skills learned at the EEC that helped you with life in general:

Patience/flexibility/hard work

Best aspect of the CVEEC internship:

The friendships!!!!  10 years later I still am very close with my intern class!  Just got an email from my intern friend Aggrey in Africa and we keep in touch on a regular basis!

CVEEC favorites:

Favorite Class: Level II Train Day/Favorite Trail: River Stories/ Favorite Story: Stonecutter/ Favorite Activity: Campfire/Favorite Song: “De Moose”

Do you still remember the lyrics to “All the Rivers Run”:

Yeah!

Additional memories and/or comments:

I lived in Everett for 4 years.  What an awesome place!  Great memories with the Hardy House Halloween party of 2002 and the Colorful Progressive Party of 2003

 

LYDIA

Lydia Courtright

Field Instructor Intern:

2010-2011

What came next?

After I left the forest, I went to the beach.  I got a position in the Outer Banks of North Carolina with Jennette’s Pier- A fishing pier/education facility that is run by the North Carolina Aquarium systems.  I taught environmental education, ranging from fishing classes, to developing summer camps and curriculum for school groups.

Current job/position:

After two years, in order to stay at the beach and receive health insurance, I just recently left the Pier and accepted a position with Twiddy & Co. Realty.  Although I won’t be working in the environmental world anymore, I still plan on volunteering and staying as involved as possible and as far as working inside… it isn’t so bad

Skills learned at the EEC that helped you get to your current job:

Definitely teamwork and being an effective communicator. Organization = success.

How to stay positive and find the humor in situations that require working extra hours.

Skills learned at the EEC that helped you with life in general:

How to work productively with individuals who may have different backgrounds, interests and learning/teaching styles than yourself.

How to slice an onion correctly.

Best aspect of the CVEEC internship:

The friendships that were made and having the opportunity to live and work in such a beautiful place like the CVNP.  Living in Everett, a town that consists of your friends and no one else, is like no other experience you’ll ever have.

Do you still remember the lyrics to “All the Rivers Run”:

Yes, but will I sing it for you? … maybe.

 

Missed the first post about our intern alumni?  Check it out here!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

