Intern Reflection

Martin

1. What is a moment you will never forget from this year at the EEC?

The moment when I, with my trail group, saw a Barred Owl fly by and sit on a branch by a Whirligig pond.

 2. Do you have any regrets from the year?

I totally wanted to go to West Side Market, but there was just no time

 3. Favorite quote from a camper?

Camper (after we climbed up the stairs); “Martin, are you a Greek god?”

Me: “Why?”

Camper: “Because you climbed the Stairs of Doom like it was nothing.”

4. One thing you learned from the year. (Life skills/Facts)

Being enthusiastic while being super tired and well all that jazz about America, its history, and how environmental movement started over here.

5. Any advice for future interns?

Just keep swimming…

6. Plans for the summer/next year?

Festivals, Bachelors degree, teaching kids in two languages about environment. All back in Slovakia.

 7.What will you miss most about the EEC?

Awesome people I got to know throughout the year, beautiful nature around the center and Chef Rich’s cooking at the center.

 8. What are your true feelings about Alex Bevan?

No comment!

 9. Any other comments/ facts you want to share?

I am from Slovakia! I love corvids and owls.

 

 Julia

1. What is a moment you will never forget from this year at the EEC?

 I was walking a trail with my group and a little tiny chipmunk ran across the trail.  One of the shy boys in the group yelled and jumped into my arms! I had to hold back my laughter from the fact that this shy little boy freaked out from the sight of a chipmunk!

2. Do you have any regrets from the year? 

 I wish I would have gone out and explored more of the park… Next year for sure!!

3. Favorite quote from a camper?

Student 1: How much do you weigh?

Student 2: 98 Pounds why?

Student 1: Dude! If you doubled your weight you could totally fight UFC.

Student 2: Dude, why would an 11 year old want to fight UFC, I’d get KO’d in like a second.

Student 1: huh… I guess you’re right… it’d still be pretty epic though….

Me: I don’t even know what you’re talking about…

Student 2: Miss Julie, seriously UFC… Duh…

Me: I live in forest. Get over it.

4. One thing you learned from the year. (Life skills/Facts)

Oh gosh… That’s like the million dollar question… I don’t know if I could choose just one! I’ve really learned SO much from this internship, but I guess I would probably say the greatest thing is just all of the knowledge I’ve gained in being able to identify things like trees, macroinvertebrates and plants!

5. Any advice for future interns?

My advice for the interns is to 1. Get out and explore the park!!! There is so much to experience and you don’t want to miss/regret not being able to see it and 2. Make sure you hang out with all the interns. You are going to be working with them very closely for the next 10 months and there’s nothing like all going to the Winking Lizard or Fishers and hanging out and getting to know each other even more!

6. Plans for the summer/next year?

I am lucky/crazy enough to be able to stay for summer camp and the second year internship as the Administrative Intern-Community Outreach!!!!

8. What are your true feelings about Alex Bevan?

HE IS A GENIUS!!! Who would ever say anything bad about Alex Bevan. He’s my hero. But no, in all seriousness… All the Rivers Run will forever be imprinted in my brain, so thank you for that Mr. Bevan, Thank you….

9. Any other comments/ facts you want to share?

   “All the rivers run, dancing in the sun, cradled in their watershed, all the rivers run”

 

 Rebekah

1. What is a moment you will never forget from this year at the EEC?

I won’t forget a particular camper crying as he got on the bus and drove away. It was really sad but made the whole experience meaningful and made me glad that we could give kids a safe place to learn and grow.

 2. Do you have any regrets from the year? 

I still haven’t ridden on the train but that’s about it! I did get to crawl inside the hollow tree so that’s not a regret.

 3. Favorite quote from a camper?

Probably a camper saying ‘Britteny Spears? She’s hot!’ during the dining hall moment of silence

4. One thing you learned from the year. (Life skills/Facts)

I learned a lot by just observing the same natural area day after day through all the seasons. Learned a lot about birds from Ranger Heather!

5. Any advice for future interns?

Always carry extra snacks and always ask kids if they need to use the bathroom.

6. Plans for the summer/next year?

I will be working at Basket of Life Farm in CVNP so I will still be in the area.

 7.What will you miss most about the EEC?

 I’ll miss being outside in the forest everyday just getting to see whats out there.

 8. What are your true feelings about Alex Bevan?

I guess I’m glad to be done with him!

 

Sarah

1. What is a moment you will never forget from this year at the EEC?

I won’t forget the many times I got to become a junior ranger of the Cuyahoga Valley National Park

 2. Do you have any regrets from the year? 

I would have liked to have biked the tow path from end to end

 3. Favorite quote from a camper?

“This would be a great hiding place for the hunger games” a camper

quote about the hollow tree

4. One thing you learned from the year. (Life skills/Facts)

It is most impressive how many times Emily Garrison has enthusiastically sung “all the rivers run”

5. Any advice for future interns?

Make sure to communicate as a group and support each other in any way that you can

6. Plans for the summer/next year?

Researching the island life in Puerto Rico with a mix of hanging out in the dry forest in the mornings and on the beach in the afternoons

 7. What will you miss most about the EEC?

Going on night hikes and listening to owls

 8. What are your true feelings about Alex Bevan?

A musical genius

 9. Any other comments/ facts you want to share?

I had a great year and there were so many awesome things about the EEC

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

