Meet the CVEEC’s 2013-2014 Interns

Front Row: Kate, Carrie, Desi, Maddie, Susan, Dave, Mysha Back Row: Rudy, Kyle, Chris, Josh, Nick, Julia

Front Row: Kate, Carrie, Desi, Maddie, Susan, Dave, Mysha
Back Row: Rudy, Kyle, Chris, Josh, Nick, Julia

FIELD INSTRUCTOR INTERNS:

Mysha

Mysha

Name: Mysha Clarke

School: Kalamazoo College

Major(s): Economics Major; Spanish Minor, Environmental Studies Concentration

Home town: Westmoreland, Jamaica

What are you most excited about for the year? I am most excited to see the changes in the beauty of the CVNP throughout the different seasons, have fun teaching and experience greater personal and professional growth.

A unique place you have traveled to:

I have travelled to the Galapagos Islands off the coast of Ecuador in 2012, during my college study abroad program. It was a unique, rewarding and exciting experience because I got to see giant tortoises, caves, rock formations, land and sea iguanas, sea lions, and snorkel with (vegetarian) sharks.  Our program explored dormant volcanoes and active volcanoes. The culture and beauty of Ecuador in general, was definitely a one of a kind experience I am grateful to have shared.

Carrie

Carrie

Name: Carrie Cooper

School: Eckerd College

Major(s): Marine Science

Home town: Fort Wayne, IN

What are you most excited about for the year?

I am most excited to meet lots of awesome kids and learn with them about our watershed.

Favorite quote or motto to live by:

“Don’t panic.” –Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Dave

Dave

Name: Dave Eaton

School: Walsh University

Major(s): Biology and International Relations

Home town: Pemberville, OH

What are you most excited about for the year?

I am most excited for growth this year; knowledge and personal growth. Working in nature gives you the time to reflect on everything and working with kids gives you the opportunity to pass knowledge on but to also receive the wisdom that you can only get from children.

Favorite quote or motto to live by:

One of my favorite quote/mottos I learned in Costa Rica- Pura Vida. It is a statement that is more than the translation of ‘pure life’, it is an exclamation of the beauty of life and the ability to slow down and enjoy the wonders that the world and the company of other people bring into your life. Overall it is a commitment to happiness.

Susan

Susan

Name: Susan Fritsch

School: Muskingum University

Major(s): Environmental Science

Home town: Akron, OH

What are you most excited about for the year?

I am really excited to be teaching this year. I love environmental education and I believe that there is no better way to learn about the environment than to be in it and experience it hands on. I cannot wait to share my love for the natural world with all of the kids who come to the CVEEC.

If you could acquire an additional adaptation to survive in the world, what would it be?

I would love to have gills. I would then be able to travel by means of waterways and see the beautiful world below the water surfaces. It would be so cool to explore the Great Barrier Reef and I would never have to come up for air. I could explore for a really long time without the weight of Scuba gear or the concern of drowning.

Kyle

Kyle

Name: Kyle Jacoby

School: Kent State University

Major(s): Interpersonal Communication

Home town: Kent, OH

What are you most excited about for the year?

I am really excited to have an impact on the environmental awareness of children. Not only will it hopefully persuade them to learn more but encourage me to expand what I know as well.

Favorite quote or motto to live by:

“To think better, to think like the best humans, we are probably going to have to learn again to judge a person’s intelligence, not by the ability to recite facts, but by the good order or harmoniousness of his or her surroundings.”  –Wendell Berry

Desi

Desi

Name: Desirae Kierner

School: Ashland University

Major(s): Biology and Environmental Science

Home town: Marysville, OH

What are you most excited about for the year?

I am most excited about learning, not only more about myself but also learning more about education and how to formally teach children in a non-formal setting. Children are the future and they deserve the best education this world has to offer.

If you know, what would your ultimate job be?

My dream job is to work for The Museum of Natural History in Washington D.C. as a museum curator and educator of young minds.

Kate

Kate

Name: Kate Lowry

School: Hiram College

Major(s): Environmental Studies, with a focus on environmental education and conservation

What are you most excited about for the year?

I’m excited to be able to go to work every day and see the kids that I’m teaching begin to open up to things in nature that they were initially weary about.  To see their eyes light up with interest, and their faces brighten when they accomplish something they’ve never done before is the reason I want to work here.

A unique place you have traveled:

In the spring of my junior year of college, I traveled to Bhutan (tiny little country nestled in the foothills of the Himalayan Mountains in-between Tibetan China and India).  The land was absolutely breathtaking, and the spiritual significance the land still has with the people of Bhutan gave everything a heightened reverence.  Every place I traveled was sacred. We even had the opportunity to trek in the mountains for 5 days!  I miss the land, the Dzongs, the people, and the food.  It was the most transformative experience I’ve had.

Maddie

Maddie

Name: Madelyn Messner (Maddie)

School: John Carroll University

Major(s): Biology

Home town: Ashtabula, OH

What are you most excited about for the year? I am excited to test my abilities and make impressions on future generations that will determine our eventual future. I am also excited to learn about environmental education and make connections that can lead to my personal and professional development.

If you could acquire an additional adaptation to survive in the world, what would it be?

I would acquire the adaptation that would allow me to communicate with other species of animals; I would be able to understand the birds, whales, dogs, and others so that I could be an interpreter for them.

Nick

Nick

Name: Nick Roope

School: Kent State University

Major(s): Geology, and Biochemistry

Home town: Clyde, OH

What are you most excited about for the year?

Experiencing something I have never had the chance to experience.

A unique place you have traveled:

I have been everywhere in the US, except Hawaii and Alaska. My grandparents would go to coachmen rallies, and I would go with them in their camper. My family also went on many “Roope Loop” vacations when I was younger.

ADMINISTRATIVE INTERNS:

 

Josh

Josh

Name: Josh Angelini

School: Case Western Reserve University

Major(s): Anthropology, Geology

Home town: Columbus, OH

What are you most excited about for the year?

I’m excited to spend more time teaching here and witnessing the changing of the seasons in CVNP.

A unique place you have traveled:

I spent six weeks in Ethiopia while I was conducting my Masters research.

Rudy

Rudy

Name: Rudolph Armocida

School: Kent State University

Major(s): Health education, Physical education

Home town: Brimfield, Ohio

What are you most excited about for the year?

Working with the kids, and taking on a more administrative role.

If you know, what would your ultimate job be?

Climbing Ranger at Estes Park National Park Colorado

Chris

Chris

Name: Chris Ziska

School: Ohio Wesleyan University

Major(s): B.A. Zoology

Home town: Berea, OH

What are you most excited about for the year?

I am honestly looking forward to teaching all of the kids again; that was by far my favorite part of the first year internship.

Three interesting facts about yourself:

1. I know how to ballroom dance

2. I own a Chinchilla named “Chipper,” he is an old man and I love him to death!

3. I have always grown up with a dog(s), and I plan on adopting a husky or husky/lab mix in the future.

Julia

Julia

Name: Julia Kokavec

School: Lake Erie College

Major(s): Environmental Science

Home town: Colebrook, Ohio

What are you most excited about for the year?

I am most excited to continue to see children get excited over finding millipedes on the trail or seeing a spotted salamander for the first time. That is truly the best part about this job.

Favorite quote or motto to live by:

“If you get a chance, take it. If it changes your life, let it. Nobody said that it’d be easy, they just promised that it’d be worth it.” – Grey’s Anatomy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

